Students to Compete in SkillsUSA Nationals

June 17, 2016

Topeka, Kan. – Washburn Tech is sending 27 students to Louisville, Ky., to compete or participate in the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference. The event, which is scheduled for June 20-24, is a showcase of career and technical education students from around the country.

To compete at the national level, students had to win a gold medal in SkillsUSA state competition in April.  Contestants work against the clock and each other while proving their expertise in occupations such as computer technology, cabinetmaking, precision machining, culinary arts and advertising design. It is designed to highlight the best career and technical students in each state and eventually the nation. 

“SkillsUSA is our Super Bowl,” said Gillian Gabelmann, associate dean for technical instruction, Washburn Tech. “We don’t have athletic teams but we have our CTE athletes who represent their college and demonstrate their knowledge and skills. We could not be more proud of them. 

More than 16,000 students, teachers and business partners are expected to participate in the week-long event. Approximately 6,000 of that number are outstanding students who will compete in 100 different trade, technical and leadership fields. Contests are run with the help of industry, trade associations and labor organizations, and test competencies that are set by industry.


Names and hometowns of competitors traveling to Louisville, Ky.:

Auburn – Chad Davis

Carbondale – Nevada Finton-Millis

Eskridge – Holly Kibler-DeYoe

Lawrence – Dena Stein, Andrea Tipton

Manhattan – Mitchell Clark

Netawaka – Jonathan Reiff

Ozawkie – Johnathan Kooser

Topeka – Benjamin Arnfield, Donald Behrens, Jordan Brinker, Paula Carvell, Kyle Dana, Barbara Evans, Justin Gabhart, George James II, Mari Johnson, Lindsey Jones, William May, Shannon McPherson, Shelby Moten, Michael Ramirez, Samantha Saiya, Jessica Sandmeyer, Timothy Vincent, Kevin Williams

Note: Samantha Thuringer, Holton, will serve as a national voting delegate.